Exemption & Property Tax Rebate Programs
Senior Tax Assistance Rebate (STAR) Program
This program is administered by the State of Nevada, Department of Health and Human Services, Aging and Disability Services Division. Please visit the STAR page for additional information.
Property Tax Exemptions
The Nevada Legislature (NRS 361) provides for property tax exemptions to individuals who meet certain criteria. An exemption may be applied to real property tax and personal property tax, which includes business, personal property, and manufactured housing.
These exemptions can be used either for property taxes or for a reduction on the governmental service taxes on DMV registrations.
The following are property tax exemptions offered by the State of Nevada. If you meet the specified criteria, you may apply for these exemptions through the Storey County Assessor’s Office:
Surviving Spouse Exemption (Widow/Widower) The Surviving Spouse Exemption applies to Nevada residents and is in the amount of $1,400 assessed valuation deduction. Conversion into actual cash dollar savings varies depending on the tax rates - approximately $48 per year on real estate or personal property taxes.
To apply for the Surviving Spouse Exemption, you must have been a Nevada resident for 6 months and provide a copy of your spouse’s death certificate to the Storey County Assessor's Office along with a completed and notarized Widow/Widower’s Exemption Form (PDF).
Veteran’s Exemption The Veteran's Exemption provides a $2,800 exemption for assessed value deduction. Conversion into actual cash dollar savings varies depending on the tax rates - approximately $97 per year on real estate or personal property taxes. The Veteran's Exemption applies to Nevada residents who have served in the Armed Forces of the United States in active duty during time of war or national emergency in the:
- Air Force
- Coast Guard
- Merchant Marines
- National Guard
- April 6, 1917 - November 11, 1918
- December 7, 1941 - December 31, 1946
- June 25, 1950 - May 7, 1975
- September 26, 1982 - December 1, 1987
- December 20, 1989 - January 31, 1990
- August 2, 1990 - April 11, 1991
- December 5, 1992 - March 31, 1994
- November 20, 1995 - December 20, 1996
To apply for the Veteran's Exemption, you must be a Nevada Resident for 6 months and provide the Storey County Assessor's Office with a copy of your honorable discharge, certificate of satisfactory service, or separation documents, along with a completed and notarized Veteran's Exemption Form (PDF).
Disabled Veteran’s Exemption The Disabled Veteran's Exemption is provided for veterans who have a permanent service connected disability of at least 60%. The amount of exemption is dependent upon the degree of disability incurred. The permanently disabled veteran with a 60% to 100% disability receives an exemption ranging from $14,000 to $28,000 assessed value.
To apply for the Disabled Veteran's Exemption, you must be a resident of Nevada for 6 months and provide a copy of your honorable discharge, certificate of satisfactory service, or separation documents, as well as documentation from the Veteran’s Administration of the percentage of service connected disability, along with a completed and notarized Veteran's Exemption Form (PDF).
The benefits of this program may succeed to the widow of the disabled veteran who was eligible for the exemption at the time of death.
Nevada Veterans' Home Account
If you qualify for the Veteran’s Exemption or Disabled Veteran's Exemption, you have the option of donating your exemption to the Nevada Veterans’ Home Account. To do so, you must pay your full property tax bill and ask the Storey County Assessor’s Office to forward your exemption entitlement to the Veterans’ Home Account.
Blind Exemption The Blind Exemption is in the amount of $4,200 assessed value deduction. Conversion into actual cash dollar savings varies depending on the tax rates - approximately $145 per year on real estate or personal property taxes. This exemption is available to Nevada residents with visual acuity that does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye when corrected, or whose field of vision does not subtend to an angle of 20 degrees.
To qualify for this exemption, you must be a Nevada resident for 6 months and provide a certificate to the Storey County Assessor’s office from a physician licensed under the laws of Nevada, stating the above requirements are met.
Property Tax Cap - Per AB 489 AB 489, signed into law on April 6, 2005, provides for a partial abatement of property taxes. The level of this abatement, in the form of a “Tax Cap,” varies based on the type and use of the property. The Tax Cap limits the increase of taxes levied against a property in Storey County for the 2019-20 fiscal year to:
- 3.0% for owner-occupied primary residences and qualifying rental properties
- 8.0% for most other properties
Property which will not qualify for the Tax Cap includes that which is new to the tax roll, such as new construction, new parcels, and parcels with a change in use. In order for rental properties to qualify, the amount of rent charged for all units must not exceed fair market rent values, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
File your Property Tax Cap Claim Form