The Storey County Assessor is an elected position charged with maintaining official records and appraising all real and personal property within the county. As outlined by Nevada Revised Statutes, a county assessor must either be a state certified tax appraiser or must employ state certified tax appraisers.
Once an appraiser is certified, he or she must complete a minimum of 36 hours of appraisal training, and complete courses approved by the Appraiser Certification Board each year in order to accumulate a total of 180 hours within a 5 year period. Once the 180 hours are completed, the certified appraiser must then complete 36 hours of training every 3 years. These courses are always specific to Nevada Tax Law, and are occasionally provided by the biannual Assessors Association’s workshops.