Storey County is an active participant in regional and statewide activities. Our Commissioners regularly attend board meetings to give Storey County representation in these activities as well as to promote the function of the individual boards.

From tourism to historic preservation and drug enforcement to economic development, our Commissioners are active participants in the following boards (the individual Commissioners who sit on these boards are indicated). In some cases, the Commissioner also serve as Chairman.

4th Ward School and Museum Board Bill Sjovangen
Carson Water Subconservancy District
Austin Osborne
Comstock Historic District
Marshall McBride
County Board of Equalization
Nick Fain
Marshall McBride
Doug Walling
Debt Management Board Doug Walling (Chair)
Marshall McBride
Pat Whitten
Colleen Conley (Storey County School District)
Ed Gilbert (Canyon GID)
Economic Development Authority Western Nevada
Lance Gilman
Legislative Representative Bill Sjovangen, Including Staff as Needed
Lockwood Senior Center Maggie Lowther
Natural Resources Conservation District (USDA) Dean Haymore
Nevada Association of Counties (NACO) Bill Sjovangen
Nevada Commission for the Reconstruction of the V&T Railway Bill Sjovangen
Nevada Works Austin Osborne
Lance Gilman as Alternate
Oversight of Public Works, Fire, and Community Development Departments Marshall McBride
Safety Committee Shannon Gardner - Chair
Vanessa Dufresne - Vice Chair
St. Mary’s Art Center Bill Sjovangen
State Land Use Planning Advisory Council Austin Osborne
Storey Co. Economic Development Lance Gilman
Truckee River Flood Project Coordinating Committee Austin Osborne
Lance Gilman as Alternate
Virginia City Tourism Commission (VCTC) Leisa Findley
Ron Gallagher
Doug McQuide
Angelo Petrini
Bill Sjovangen
Virginia City Senior Center Deny Dotson
Washoe-Storey Conservation District Austin Osborne
Western Nevada Development District Dean Haymore
Wildlife Advisory Board Greg Hess (Chair)
Rich Bacus
Bill Clark
Deny Dotson
Greg Bum Hess